Government in Oxfordshire | Oxfordshire County Council

Government in Oxfordshire

chair in the council chamberOxfordshire has one county council, five smaller district councils and even smaller town and parish councils. Each council is responsible for providing different services to the public.

Local authorities are only some of the organisations delivering services to the public in Oxfordshire. There are other government-funded bodies such as the health service and the police.

In addition, Oxfordshire elects six MPs to Parliament and is part of the South East Region that elects 10 MEPs to the European Parliament.

Pages in this section

Oxfordshire County Council

How Oxfordshire County Council works to provide services to the public.

group of people

District councils

This page describes the work of the five district councils in Oxfordshire.

MPs and MEPs

Find your Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of European Parliament (MEPs).

Parish and town councils

What are parish and town councils and how do they work?

Mayors and chairmen

Details about the chairmen of Oxfordshire's district councils and town mayors.

Access key details Skip to main content Home News Sitemap Search Website help Complaints Terms and conditions Website feedback